English

Alexie Mobley

English Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: alexie.mobley@dmschools.org

Alexis Noring

English Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: alexis.noring@dmschools.org

Andrea Berndt

English Teacher

P: x3843 | E: Andrea.Berndt@dmschools.org

Biography

I am an Iowa native who received my B.A. from UNI (go Panthers). The majority of my teaching career has been in Phoenix, Arizona where I also received my Master's degree in Administration and Leadership from Arizona State University. This is my first year at Lincoln (go RAILS!), and I teach English 3 and Power English. In my spare time, I enjoy reading a suspenseful novel, shopping, going on walks, watching football, and spending time with my family and small Yorkshire/Shih Tzu dog, Nigel.

Hannah Harmsen

English Teacher

P: 515-242-8452 | E: hannah.harmsen@dmschools.org

Biography

Mrs. Harmsen is a graduate of Drake University. She teaches English, Graphic Novels, and Modern Expression. She is an avid reader and loves watching fancy old movies. She spends most of her time with her husband and adorable toddler, Esme.

Jack Simons

English Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: jack.simons@dmschools.org

Jaime McTaggart

English Teacher/Drama Teacher

P: 515-242-8452 | E: jamie.mctaggart@dmschools.org

Biography

This will be my third year teaching English and Theatre at Rails Academy. I earned my undergraduate degree from Central College, in Vocal Performance and Theatre. Following undergrad, I moved to Chicago and enjoyed a career as a performer for nine years. Upon moving back to Des Moines, I earned my Master of Arts in Teaching degree from Drake University. I still love to dance, sing, and act, but my favorite thing to do is spend time with my four year old daughter, Daisey (who is already a little performer as well!).

Jasmine Simpson

English Teacher

P: x3497 | E: jasmine.simpson@dmschools.org

Biography

 

"Hello, my name is Jasmine Simpson.   This will be my fourth year at Lincoln and I will be teaching English II and AP Language and Composition. I graduated from The University of Iowa, with my B.A. in Secondary English Education, and I'm currently pursing a degree in Culturally Responsive Leadership and Instruction through Drake University. In addition to teaching, I am a mentor for Lincoln's chapter of Dream to Teach. "

 

Jeffrey Werth

English Teacher

P: x3494 | E: Jeffrey.Werth@dmschools.org

Julie Kramer

Flex Academy English Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: julie.kramer@dmschools.org

Julie Pace

SPED Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: julie.pace@dmschools.org

Biography

I am originally from Marshalltown and graduated from UNI with my BA in 1996 and ISU with my MA in 2004. Lincoln has been my teaching home since 2001 where I have had the opportunity to teach special and general education English. Outside of school, I enjoy spending time with family and friends, being in the outdoors, and watching sports.

Krys Rankin

Teacher

P: 515-242-8452 | E: Krys.rankin@dmschools.org

Biography

Though I'm not a native of Iowa I'm glad to call Des Moines home. I graduate from Roosevelt High School and Grand View University. My husband and I are expecting our first baby in February of 2017. We both love to garden, own a zoo of animals, and enjoy backpacking in the mountains during the summer. I am also one of the two Poet Mentors for Movement 515, which is a slam poetry, break dancing, and graffiti program for students.

Mary Beth George

Spanish & English Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: marybeth.george@dmschools.org

Melissa Davidson

English Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: melissa.davidson@dmschools.org

Biography

I graduated from Lincoln High School (and bleed maroon and gold). I attended Simpson College where I majored in English. Currently, I teach English III and IV. Outside of school, I enjoy baseball, photography, and spending time with family. GO YANKEES! GO HAWKS! GO RAILS!

Michael Williams

English Teacher, Performing Arts

P: x7366 | E: Michael.Williams@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! My name is Michael Williams and I am incredibly happy to teach at Lincoln! I am a proud UNI Panther alum! I am not new to the area as I grew up in Des Moines and am a product of the Des Moines Public Schools! I have been involved in theatre since middle school and love the creativity that it fosters! Go Rails!

Rosalyn Harris

English Teacher

P: x4436 | E: Rosalyn.Johnson@dmschools.org

Theodore Brightman

English Teacher

P: 515-242-8452 | E: theodore.brightman@dmschools.org