Science

Angela Chapman

SPED Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: angela.chapman@dmschools.org

Biography

I have lived in Des Moines my whole life, except for a few years at University of Northern Iowa. I am an instructional strategist who focusses on science and math curriculum. I have been at Lincoln High School for 15 years.

Christopher Bauer

Science Teacher

P: x3824 | E: christopher.bauer@dmschools.org

Biography

Graduated from Drake University

Subjects taught: Chemistry, Biology, Ell Earth Science

Christopher Hoeg

Science Teacher

P: x4428 | E: Christopher.Hoeg@dmschools.org

Biography

I graduated from UNI in 2015 with an All Science Teaching degree. I currently teach conceptual physics and earth science at Lincoln RAILS Academy. I love baseball and coach during the summer. One of my favorite hobbies is attending Iowa Hawkeye football games with friends and family.

Claire Orlando

Science Teacher

P: x4430 | E: Claire.Orlando@dmschools.org

Biography

Ms. Orlando studied Global Resource Systems and French at Iowa State University before teaching Earth Science at Lincoln RAILS Academy. In her free time she likes to travel, try new foods, and spend time with her family.

Frank Lee

Science Teacher

P: x3466 | E: Frank.Lee@dmschools.org

Haley Lieber

Science Teacher

P: 515-242-8452 | E: haley.lieber@dmschools.org

Biography

I graduated from University of Northern Iowa (Go Panthers!) and then went onto get my Masters of Curriculum and Instruction from Illinois State University. I love teaching science and AVID! I am really excited for a great year!

Howard Berger

Science Teacher

P: 515-242-8452 | E: howard.berger@dmschools.org

Biography

I have a bachelors degree in Meteorology from Penn State University, a Masters of Science in Atmospheric Science from the University of Wisconsin, and a Masters of Arts in Teaching from Simpson College. I teach Conceptual Physics and the AVID elective class. I love eating good food, watching movies, and spending time with my wife and two sons.

Kevin Lauridsen

Science Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: kevin.lauridsen@dmschools.org

Biography

I am in my 16th year at Lincoln. I currently teach Environmental Science and AVID. I graduated with a BA degree from Simpson College and a MA degree from Drake University. I enjoy watching sports, reading and spending time with my family.

Laramie Cobler

Science

P: x3821 | E: Laramie.Cobler@dmschools.org

Biography

Ms. Cobler teaches Forensic Science and Biology. She graduated from University of Iowa with a bachelors degree and also from Iowa State University with a masters degree.

Sandra Schlagel

Science Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: sandra.schlagel@dmschools.org

Biography

Proud Lincoln alum! 16 years teaching science. Master's degree in Secondary Education at Drake University and veteran active duty instructor of the United States Air Force. Three children; Mike in grad school, Andy in the Air Force and Caitlin working at Wells Fargo. Love to walk, go to see movies and listen to my husband Bob sing at various locations around town!

Scott Voogd

Science Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: scott.voogd@dmschools.org

Biography

This is my 19th year teaching science at Lincoln. I also coach the girls soccer team. I have a BS in Geology from Eastern Connecticut State University ('94) an M.A.T. from Drake University ('98) and am currently enrolled in UNI's Principalship Master's program. I'm married with three awesome kids and two cats. Currently I teach Astronomy and ELL Science 1 and 2 classes.

Timothy Leonard

Science Teacher

P: x3476 | E: timothy.leonard@dmschools.org

Biography

I graduated from Grand View and Drake University with majors in Biology and Physical Education. I taught and coached for ten years in Science and Physical Education, here and in Texas. This was followed by twenty years of Active Duty for the Air National Guard before retiring as a Colonel and coming to Lincoln High School. I'm starting my eleventh year here at Lincoln High School teaching Science. My wife, Karen, and I have two grown sons, Eric and Sean, two daughter-in laws and four wonderful grandchildren.