Special Education

Allan Clark

Intellectual Disability Teacher

P: x3860 | E: Allan.Clark@dmschools.org

Amanda Mills

Special Ed Associate

P: x3802 | E: Amanda.Mills@dmschools.org

Amy Palmer

Math Teacher

P: x3848 | E: Amy.Palmer@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! My name is Amy Palmer. I grew up here on the south side of Des Moines and have traveled back to share my love of education. I teach so I can learn about the world and all of those infinite possibilities that brand new minds bring each and every day. I graduated from Drake University receiving a BA in Special Ed. (5-12) and Art Education (k-12). When I am not in school, I enjoy spending time with my family and being outdoors!

Angela Chapman

SPED Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: angela.chapman@dmschools.org

Biography

I have lived in Des Moines my whole life, except for a few years at University of Northern Iowa. I am an instructional strategist who focusses on science and math curriculum. I have been at Lincoln High School for 15 years.

Blake Bergstrom

Special Education

P: x3852 | E: Blake.Bergstrom@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! My name is Blake Bergstrom and I am happy to be here at Lincoln High School! This is my first official year of teaching, as I just finished up my degree from Simpson College, majoring in Physical Education and having endorsements in Health, Special Education, and Coaching. I was a collegiate athlete at Simpson, where I played football for four years. I am also a coach on staff here at Lincoln for the football team. I am looking forward to a great year!

Celesta Moore

Special Education

P: x4414 | E: Celesta.Moore@dmschools.org

Elizabeth Waxman-Daggett

Special Education Teacher

E: elizabeth.waxmandaggett@dmschools.org

Biography

I am originally from South Florida where I earned my Bachelors degree in Sociology from the University of Central Florida. I moved to Des Moines via Chicago where I was a real estate agent for 10 years. I recently received my Master of Arts degree in Teaching from Simpson College with endorsements in Business and Special Education. I am an avid cyclist, a Cubs fan, and I love to spend time with my son who started first grade this year. I am both honored and privileged to call Lincoln High School my home. Go Railsplitters!!

Erika Owens

Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: erika.owens@dmschools.org

Biography

I graduated from Kirkwood Community College and William Penn University. I played softball at both schools. I received my masters from Morningside College. I teach Power English & History at the 9th Grade building. I am married and have two daughters. I enjoy hanging out with my family and friends.

Holly Lowell

Social Worker

P: x7540 | E: holly.lowell@dmschools.org

Biography

I graduated with a B.S. degree in Psychology from the University of Iowa and then got my MSW from the University of Iowa years later as I realized my passion for Social Work and empowering others to be the best they can be. I have been with Des Moines Public Schools for six years now and absolutely love it. In my free time I love being outdoors and spending time with my husband and two children (ages 11 and 15).

Isabel Marquez

Special Ed Associate

P: x3802 | E: Isabel.Marquez@dmschools.org

Jason Lyons

SPED Teacher

P: 515-242-7514 | E: jason.lyons@dmschools.org

Biography

I enjoy all sports and the Iowa Hawkeyes! I work as the Behavior Interventionist and have 16 years experience working with students with Behaviors problems. I am married (Emily) and have two boys.(Conor and Owen)

Julie Pace

SPED Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: julie.pace@dmschools.org

Biography

I am originally from Marshalltown and graduated from UNI with my BA in 1996 and ISU with my MA in 2004. Lincoln has been my teaching home since 2001 where I have had the opportunity to teach special and general education English. Outside of school, I enjoy spending time with family and friends, being in the outdoors, and watching sports.

Karen Sieg

SPED Associate - RAILS Academy

P: 515-242-8452 | E: karen.sieg@dmschools.org

Biography

Is a graduate of the University of Central Missouri. Enjoys spending time with her family, pets and shopping.

Kathleen Downes

SPED Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: kathleen.downes@dmschools.org

Biography

I am originally from Chicago and have been a happy Iowa resident for 6 years! I have 3 degrees from Loyola University Chicago (2 B.A.s in history and English and a Masters in Secondary Education) have traveled to five countries and lived in Rome and Ireland. I love Lincoln and am excited to come to work every day!

Kathryn Carper

SPED Associate

P: 515-242-7500 | E: kathryn.carper@dmschools.org

Biography

graduate of LHS, married, 5 children, 10 grandchildren

Krys Rankin

Teacher

P: 515-242-8452 | E: Krys.rankin@dmschools.org

Biography

Though I'm not a native of Iowa I'm glad to call Des Moines home. I graduate from Roosevelt High School and Grand View University. My husband and I are expecting our first baby in February of 2017. We both love to garden, own a zoo of animals, and enjoy backpacking in the mountains during the summer. I am also one of the two Poet Mentors for Movement 515, which is a slam poetry, break dancing, and graffiti program for students.

Mike DeReus

Special Education Associate

P: x3802 | E: Michael.Dereus@dmschools.org

Biography

I am a 1982 graduate of Abraham Lincoln High School and am now working on my bachelors degree in History, with only three courses remaining! I am married with three daughters and two step sons. I love to vacation in Northern Minnesota as well as anywhere with a beach.

Shannon Stusse Grote

Special Ed Consultant

P: x7540 | E: Shannon.StusseGrote@dmschools.org

Taya Donovan

Special Education Teacher

P: x3876 | E: Taya.Donovan@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! My name is Ms. Donovan. I graduated from Drake University with a degree in Special Education and Reading. This is my second year teaching at Lincoln High School but my third year teaching. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

Victor Wickert

SPED Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: victor.wickert@dmschools.org

Biography

I am a graduate of Lincoln, 1974. I have an AA degree, BA in Pastoral Studies, BS in Secondary Education Social Sciences-all, from Drake and a MA-MFM, (master of arts in Marriage and Family) from Biola University in California.. I've worked with all kinds of students since 1978 in many capacities and still love the opportunity to help change lives. My greatest treasure is my 10 year old son who continues to impress me daily with his knowledge, manners and compassionate heart.

Whitney Judas

SPED Teacher

P: 515-242-7500 | E: whitney.judas@dmschools.org

Biography

Hi, my name is Whitney Judas and this is my fifth year teaching at Lincoln. I graduated from the University of Northern Iowa with a degree in English and Special Education. I have always co-taught English classes and really enjoy the opportunity to work with another teacher in the classroom. I love the students and families we serve at Lincoln and am privileged to call Lincoln my home. Go RAILSPLITTERS!

Will Kramer

Special Education

P: x3852 | E: Will.Kramer@dmschools.org

Zach Butcher

Special Ed Associate

P: x3802 | E: Zackary.Butcher@dmschools.org